Good Monday Morning!

We have been in the house about 7 weeks now.  It seems like we will never be unpacked.  Phil says the basement looked like the last scene of Raider of the Lost Ark after the movers left.

Yes, I think he was right.  In our defense, we had everything from our old basement, garage, and shed sent to our basement.  In reality it made unpacking the upstairs much easier.  We have added some shelving in the basement like in the last house and I have been filling them as fast as Phil can build them.  I’ve been bringing many boxes up to the walk in pantry.  It is so wonderful to store all my dishes, glasses, entertaining pieces nearby rather than hunting for them in the basement.   Currently the pantry is just a room with lots of wire shelves.  Someday, wouldn’t it be nice to have real cabinets in there, marble counters, glass doors?  Oh, I can dream….

Some of you know about the “shed key” story.  The movers took the key to the shed and packed it.  Of course that has not been found yet.  But we continue to look. It’s like looking for a needle in a haystack.  The trash company here is great.  Unlimited amount of trash every week.  They also pick up the boxes for recycling.  I think they cry when they come up our street each week.  About 2 weeks ago we had around 60 boxes outside, last week must have been 40.  I haven’t been to the basement this week, I will need to do some power unpacking this afternoon, trash day is Wednesday!

I wanted to show you our master bathroom.  Except for the towel hooks which just need to be installed, the bathroom is done.  Very happy with it.  (Except for the counters that aren’t white, but that is another story and some day it will be corrected). Please pay careful attention to the way the curtains and the feature panel in the shower actually seem to match.  Pure luck.

Love the little rugs in front of the vanity

We just picked up that chrome and glass shelving unit from someone I found on Craigslist for almost nothing.  I wanted a chrome etagere for the space, but all the ones I found were very expensive, especially any of the vintage pieces.  This one might have a slight 70’s or 80’s vibe to it, but somehow, we are making it work.

Great way to display the fluffy towels, the pretty soaps and the best bubble bath bath nectar ever!  And it’s from honey!

Even the Tums look nice in their jar.

On to other “big” news…

I have been receiving a lot of feedback from people telling me that I should take what design skills I have and “go into business”.  This is very easily said, but very difficult to do!  I have been in contact with the woman who did the styling for our kitchen’s photo shoot in the last house.  Her suggestion is to get the new kitchen published and refer to myself as a designer.  Then, make sure that contact information is given, and voila, a business will be born.  She is very optimistic, isn’t she?

I have to do something that is artistic or creative with my life. I just feel that it is something I have always wanted to do and since I have just celebrated a milestone birthday I think it’s time to do something.

So, I think I’m going to try to start working on the building blocks for this idea.  Of course the new kitchen cannot be published until it is finished.  We do not have the back splash in yet.  In fact, no decision on what to use has been reached, let alone order the materials.

In the meantime, if anyone has any ideas how to go about doing something like this, I would love to hear from you with your suggestions.  Every designer needs to have a blog today.  I think this one will be a good starting point, so you may start to see posts that are not just about our house or family, but rather branching out.  Stick with me, please.

I see lots of furniture transformations coming, don’t you?  Where is that box of spray paint?

Another little thing I’m working on is helping to scout for magazines.  So, if you know of any great spaces (kitchens in particular), please ask the homeowner if you can snap some pictures and send them to me.  I will forward them on to the above mentioned stylist and see what happens.  Not sure how that career will ever pan out, but you never know.  I loved it when they came to our house and the whole process was so fun and fascinating.  I would love to join this woman on some photo shoots and learn how to really style a room! I have already scouted one for her, and am currently working on another.

Of course if you would like for me to help you out with anything in your house, please ask.  I need guinea pigs!  I can help you source just about anything you need, and I always get great bargains.

~Karen

