im-sorry

Been gone way too long!

I’ve been concentrating more on my business’ Facebook page (which you can check out without being a Facebook person since it is a business page, I think) here.  So, I thought I needed to get back over here and update you on some things that are going on around here.   Although things have slowed down, there are some changes.

I’ll start with the latest “improvement”.  I have become slightly obsessed with Craigslist in the last couple of months.  Not that I have bought all that much stuff, but always looking for a great bargain on a piece that catches my eye.  A couple of weeks ago, I found a chrome and glass coffee table.  We went to see it after much difficulty scheduling a good time with the seller.  It’s from the 60’s, very very strong chrome.  The chrome was a little gunky, not pitted.  Phil, with his Ajax-like spit, was able to confirm that the gunk could come off.  I was still on the fence since it had a smokey glass top.  I would have preferred clear.  I heard the story about how the furniture delivery guys broke the clear one and “way back in the 60’s they couldn’t get a replacement as quickly as could be done today” so the store had this one on hand and sent it over.   At least it isn’t that 80’s tinted glass.

I have some friends at an online decorating forum who have been turning out Craigslist finds after reupholstering them and they look marvelous.  So, I figured it was time to get this table whipped into shape and move it into the house, it was embarrassing to walk by it daily sitting in the garage.

So, I brought it in yesterday, and tried water (not nearly as strong as the Ajax-spit) but that didn’t work.  Then it hit me….Bar Keepers Friend.  Yep, just a little on a damp towel, rubbed it in to the chrome, wiped with a clean part of the damp towel.

It’s as shiny as it was back in the groovy 60’s.  I’m expecting Don Draper to come and put his martini on it.

IMG_0380 IMG_0379 IMG_0378

I mentioned I always want a good bargain.  It was $25.  I’m thinking it’s a winner.

Now I need to move along with some other projects.  I have 3 chairs that need to be painted and reupholstered out in the garage.

Keep your eye out on Craigslist in your area.  You might not find something fab every day or even every week, but the special treasures are there.  And don’t worry, not every seller is the Craigslist Killer, even though Phil is sure they are!  (although I’ll never go alone to pick up something!)

Love to hear from you all, so please leave a comment or send an email!

~Karen

