I’ve seen a lot of deer in my time.

So have you, I’m sure. (well, maybe not our Aussie friends)

We have deer in our yard because of the woods and creek.  Always a treat to watch them.

But tonight, I saw something I have only seen one time before.  A newborn.  It was probably 12″ high.  Maybe 15″.  It was hanging around with the adults when they were feeding on a fallen tree.  When it came out into the open, its mother (or father) jumped up in the air and swatted it and made it head back to the brush.  I wanted to snap the picture when they were together, but alas, the camera was in the other room.  I got this shot as he was hurrying back into the woods.

IMG_0612and another….sorry they are blurry

IMG_0614Ok I’ll admit it, the photos are blurry and remind even me of those Bigfoot sighting photos!  And to give you an idea, since I know it’s hard to get a feel for how little it is, these pictures were taken of the adults, same distance, same zoom.

IMG_0620

See that stick in the first picture running diagonally near the baby’s head?  That same stick is in the 3rd photo.

Jumping for dinner:

IMG_0616

Have a great evening!

~Karen

