Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Greetings to All of You!

Thanks so much for hanging in there with me during this crazy jam-packed Spring.  I feel that the I am almost back to “normal”, which I know is completely a subjective term.

Last Friday night, Phil (the VP of Karen Viscito Interiors’ Rough Luxe Division) and I went to the Homearama here in Harrisburg.  Also known this year as The Street of Dreams.  We were planning on going with another couple and making an evening out of it, but a certain someone (my four legged furry receptionist, seen here)

Millie on Chair

was going to have surgery on Monday and since she would need to be wearing a satellite dish around her neck, seen here,

Millie with cone

we weren’t sure when we would be able to get back out during her recovery.  So sadly, we ended up going alone.

(The receptionist is fine, in case you are concerned, but she still refuses to answer the phone.)

Back to the Homearama….

The homes were all gorgeous.  Nothing seemed too over the top, all the homes were quite livable.

One common thing that all of the homes had was a Master Retreat. All were large, inviting, and getting lots of “oohs and ahhs” from visitors.   I’m not sure I can wrap my head around all the wet bars in those rooms though.  I’m all for them, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t want them to be a “feature”.

These photos are not from the Harrisburg Homearama, just online images from Houzz:

BR Wet Bar 1

Is the bed in the kitchen?

BR Wet Bar 2

Give me a coffee bar, a place to make a cocktail, but I want  it to be hidden behind doors.

BR Wet Bar Closed 2

And if you can’t hide it behind doors, then please, no kitchen cabinets and countertops in the master.  Maybe a swanky bar cart if it has to be out in the open.  Just my opinion, and you know I always have one.

But this whole Master Retreat idea did get my juices flowing again.  In our house we have a fantastic Master Suite. Or what could be a fantastic Master Retreat. We need to zhush it up a bit, to get it to the next level.  But, you know me….I’m on it.

At first I did place some of the Showhouse items in there.  It looks fab, but it’s not inviting, I don’t want to curl up there with a book.  We need a comfy sofa that looks like it was purchased for this space.  Not one that looks like it was repurposed and stuck in this space “just because”.

I just requested fabric samples in hot pink velvet for this sofa.

Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 1.30.54 PM

It’s from Crate and Barrel.

Now I just need a sale, combined with my Designer Discount….

Leave a comment about what you think your dream Master Suite would include.   More thoughts about what else we saw at the Homearama next time.

~Karen

