You may remember from a few posts ago, I decided it was time to get busy and finish up our bedroom sitting area.

I was all set on going with a hot pink velvet sofa.  Totally a gutsy move, but as I say, people who go the safe route are usually more disappointed than those that follow their hearts.

Yesterday Phil & I went to Crate & Barrel in Towson, MD.  Found the sofa that I’ve been dreaming about for weeks.  Tested it out, even took a nap on it, or so we pretended.  We agreed, this is it, but it is very expensive (it’s made by Lee, so of course it is).  But, we were willing to wait until the August sale when all upholstery will be on sale for 15% off, plus I can use my Designer Discount on top of that sale price.

Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 1.30.54 PM

Bingo.

But it was still expensive, at least for a sofa that will be in the bedroom.

On our way home, we (alright, it may have just been me) thought “let’s stop at Home Goods, haven’t been there for awhile”.  After a gentle sigh from Phil, we pulled off the highway and were in the store in just a few minutes.

It didn’t take long to find her, there she was, a gorgeous gray velvet sofa.  With a bench cushion too!

Gray Velvet Sofa

 Not hot pink, but still I can make it work. The ends are tufted, there are nailheads, and it is deep enough to really allow one to curl up on it. My plan is to add some hot pink pillows, and then recover my vintage faux bamboo metal “X” benches in a hot pink lizard print.  This is going to be fabulous!

And the best part?  It was $2400 less than the sofa at Crate & Barrel.  So, you bet I will make this one work!

We had the smaller car with us yesterday, so we couldn’t bring it home.  Phil went back today, alone.  We thought he would need every inch of space available in the car for it, so I just waited patiently, pacing around waiting for his call to let me know that she fits in the car and they were on their way home.

It did fit in the car, barely! It was a good thing I didn’t go with him, because he used every inch of available space for it.

Here it is, in its new home.

IMG_3099

And here are some of the fabrics I’m considering for pillows.  The swatch on the table is the fabric for the “X” benches.

IMG_3102

And just for the record, this was in the room for only 15 minutes before someone took a real nap on it!

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend!

~Karen

